You are here

Minimum Standards on Comprehensive Services for Children and Young People in the East African Community

The Minimum Standards (MSCS) have been developed to guide the implementation of the EAC Child Policy (2016). The role of the MSCS is to ensure a coordinated approach to service delivery, in particular at the community level, for all children and young people to strengthen their resilience and support their growth, development, and protection. The MSCS highlights the need to ensure cross-sectoral collaboration between key service providers for children and young people, particularly between health, education, social welfare, and justice to ensure all children’s needs are holistically met. The MSCS presents a set of five strategies, packaged as the S.C.A.L.E., with the S standing for Social service workforce: ensuring a strong workforce in terms of quality and quantity and adequate facilitation.

EAC Secretariat
Year of Publication: 
Resource Type: 
Gray literature
Resource Database